Inlet and fids


Someone asked about the inlet.Yes, I also have read about the inlet being cut through mostly from bay to ocean.
My Uncle John Elliott claimed to be the first person to go through the inlet. Probably a slight exaggeration.

I can remember seeing the pound poles from the boardwalk at North Division St, where Showell’s Bowling alleys were located.

There use to be an old pound fishing boat at Davis & Lynch’s yard. I’m sure it’s gone now.

What I called a fid is actually a netting needle. A fid is used to splice rope and cable.

A netting needle

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inlet and fids

  1. jeanene says:

    we have lots of them at our house…

  2. Carol Ann Ellis says:

    Hi Nelson,

    Thanks for the story, and thanks for defining a “fid.” I am wondering what a lapstrake is and what clinker built means. I guess I could look them up, but you may have your particular meaning.

    I would suggest that the background of the story–the date, etc, that you get around to in the middle should come first so that the reader who knows little or nothing about this would have a foundation to go on as she/he reads the story.

    Interesting stuff!

    Carol Ann

Leave a Reply

