Sunday


Silver City Express
Rained .01 inch last night. The morning is clear from Mexico to Colorado. I’ll get eggnog this morning. I don’t think I could stand a splash of rum.

Mules and shoes
I vaguely remember the blacksmith in our yard, leather apron and the mules.. I assume he shoed them. Not sure.

We had an old Fordson tractor around 1938/39. But it was a pill to get running. My brothers would take out the spark plugs and put them on the kitchen stove. Sometimes the hot plug would help ignite the gas. In 1940 we got a new Ford tractor. The mules were getting old. Dad kept them to till the garden.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday

  1. Carol Ann Ellis says:

    Hi Nelson,

    Interesting tidbit about your dad’s tractor. My aunt had an old tractor she called her “doodlebug”–a rusty red affair that might have been a Ford, I’m not sure.

    Gray here today– if a little colder, it looks as if it could snow.

    Ho, ho,

    Carol Ann

  2. Susan Davis says:

    Finally read all of your Vintage Christmas on the Farm story. SO vivid, I could have been there. Living took more energy than now. People would appreciate what they have if they really had to hustle just to stay warm. I was born too late. Thanks for the postcard. I have waxed/waned on expanding Dead Squirrels into a novel, but have decided (today anyway) to move onto my next short story, Murder on Slaughter Beach, which I¹ll self-publish on Smashwords. I don¹t have the emotional wherewithal to go ISO an agent and pray for publication. I just have some stories to share, I don¹t need approval/permission for that. Thanks again for all the encouragement.

    Bet for 2015, Susan The secret of Happiness is Freedom, and the secret of Freedom, Courage.

Leave a Reply

