Episode 11 Wednesday


I moved my ankles to get the blood flowing. Betty was busy typing on her computer. “You won’t believe the rest of that morning. Three men came saying we had won gifts from some clearing house. Dolores nearly had a conniption thinking they were the Three Kings bearing gifts. They followed the same routine. Take them to the barn and send them home singing carols.”

“Then three women arrived with pamphlets describing the birth of the cosmos. Of course, Dolores knew right away that they were the Three Wise Men. When they left they were singing Silent Night.”

Dolores and Jeanne fell into their chairs and started on another slice of melon. I was tired of this nonsense. I talked mainly to Dolores. “They were women, you idiot. How can they be Wise Men? This whole thing is the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard of.”

I glanced at Betty. “You know what. Dolores ignored me. She started talking to Jeanne saying she would be here early tomorrow. She gulped down the rest of her melons and trotted down the lane.”

The next day was even worse. I had just enjoying my first cup of coffee on the deck.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

