Episode 8 Sunday


“Well, what’s going on out in the barn?” Jeanne didn’t answer. She kept on humming. I think it was Silent Night. “You know you are going overboard on this. That is not Mary and Joe out in the barn.” Something was wrong. She was like she had five vodka and tonics and a tequila shooter. I was scratching my head wondering what I could say to snap her out when she glanced down the lane and started grinning.

I knew who it was without even looking. “It’s Dolores, isn’t it.” Jeanne smiled and I turned slowly to the lane. Sure enough, Dolores was walking into the yard intently studying her tablet. She stopped about ten feet from our deck. “Where are Joseph and Mary?”

Jeanne was off the deck in a flash and pulling Dolores towards the barn. I debated on following then to the barn, but I decided against it. It was all crazy and I didn’t want to get involved. Jeanne came trotting back, went in the house without a word and came out with my best quilt. My mom had made it especially for me.

“Mary needs this. The straw is giving her a rash.” I started to protest but Jeanne was halfway to the barn. I slowly finished my melon and threw the rind out in the yard for the chickens.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

