Episode 7 Saturday


I watched Jeanne guide them to the barn and disappear inside. It was ten minutes before Jeanne trotted back to the house. In a few minutes she came out with a huge tray of food: cold fried chicken, sliced tomatoes, rye bread, butter, a glass of milk and more. She didn’t say a word. Just trotted to the barn.

“Did you go to the barn with her?”

“Not yet. I was getting ready to go when Jeanne came skipping back to the house, humming a gospel song and clapping her hands. I could tell right then she was out of it.”

“What do you mean, She was out of it?” Betty typed a few words in her computer.

“She had seen the light. She really thought that was the original Joseph and Mary out in the barn.”

Betty smiled at me for the first time. “What did you think? Who did you think was in the barn?”

“I thought Jeanne had fell into the pool at the deep end. I knew that wasn’t Joseph and Mary out in the barn and this wasn’t Bethlehem.”

“OK, keep on with your story. The paper is going to love this yarn.”

I gave Betty a hard frown for calling my story a yarn. But I didn’t say anything. I kept on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

